Follow

Admin Pro - 4 Options for end-of-year transitions

Teachers have several options when transitioning classes at the end of the school year. Choose the one that matches your goals for past, current, and future students.

Option 1: Archive your current class and create a new class for the new school year (Recommended process).

Archiving your former classes allows you to preserve a rich history of publishing activity from prior years. All content remains in place, but students can no longer add or edit posts within that class. You may restore a class to an “active” status at any time. Teachers may archive their own classes, or administrators can archive classes within their organization.

For individual teachers:

From the Dashboard, click “More”.

Click-More-640x361.png

Then select "Archive"

Click-Archive-640x356.png

When you’re ready to add next year’s class, click the “Create Class +” button. Using a name/URL like “Mrs. Wilson’s Class 2016-2017” helps chronologically organize multiple years.

Create-a-new-class-640x329.png

For administrators:

Administrators may also archive classes from the org Classes page. Click the drop down menu next to the class title and select the "Archive" option.

AdminArchive.png

Option 2: Remove classes from your organization

While archiving classes in your organization is suggested, you may also choose to remove classes from your organization entirely. A class that is removed from the organization, will no longer have publishing capabilities under the organization's membership.

A class can be removed from your organization from your org Classes page. Click the small drop-down menu next to the class settings and click "Remove". AdminRemoveClass.png

Option 3: Remove students from classes

Some teachers prefer to have successive groups of students continue to add to content to the same class. Former students’ past posts can serve as exemplars and motivate new students creating their own blogs. You might also teach a multi-age or “looping” classroom where some students will continue to publish the in the same class the following year while some students move to other classes. To remove former students from your class while still keeping their rich post/comment history from previous years:

From each class Settings->Users page, check the box next to each student’s name you want to remove.

Bulk-Remove-Students-check-boxes-640x323.png

Click the “Manage” button to remove all selected students from the class. Remember, no posts or comments will be deleted.

Bulk-Remove-Students-640x318.png

Option 4: Rostering assistance

For those who opted for rostering assistance, we will mass archive classes from last year to ensure a clean slate moving into your new school year. To inquire about this process, reach out to your customer success contact for more information. 

 

Part of celebrating your students’ successes from the past year is preparing your Kidblog class for the new year. Under your guidance, students have created a body of work that is designed to follow them throughout their learning journey. Wrap up the year by ensuring your students can keep this momentum going!

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments